The Hunger Games – Text Selector

This week I am the Text Selector. I have to select parts from the book that I find interesting and comment on why I chose them. Page 224 – 338

Page Number        Part of Text              Reason for Selection
Page 230 Back fourth, Back fourth! The tracker jackers begin to buzz and I hear them coming out. Back fourth, Back fourth! I like how Suzanne Collins wrote this part in kind of separate sections. Katniss is cutting the tree branch with her knife then it cuts to what is happening around her then Katniss is cutting   again and it repeats. This part made me feel anxious about what would happen next!
Page 235 Then the ants bore into my eyes and I black out. I love the metaphor used here because the ants didn’t really bore into her eyes, but it’s another way of saying her eyes closed or she fell asleep.
Page 267 For a moment, everything seems frozen in time. Then the apples spill to the ground and I’m blown backwards into the air. I selected this part of the text because when I was reading it I wasn’t breathing and was incredibly still anticipating the climax.
Page 269 Let the Seventy-fourth Hunger Games begin, Cato, I think. Let them begin for real. I like how Suzanne Collins wrote this part from inside Katniss’ head because it made me feel more connected with Katniss and it made the book more personal.
Page 284 Deep in the meadow, under the willow. A bed of grass, a soft green pillow. Lay down your head, and close your sleepy eyes. And when again they open, the sun will rise. This part made me cry. I love the words and all but the last 2 sentences are really upsetting because every person who reads this part in Hunger Games knows that Rue’s eyes will never open again.
One thought on “The Hunger Games – Text Selector

Leave a Reply

